Food Review: Flat White Kitchen in Durham

Though I don’t always pay attention to Instagram hype, this is one place I had to visit on my day trip to the beautiful city of Durham (read about my trip here). And spoiler alert: I was not disappointed.

Flat White Kitchen is a brunch spot located in a stunning Grade 2 Listed building dating back to the mid 1700’s. Spread out over five floors, each room has been renovated and decorated in a unique style, meaning that you never quite know where you’ll end up dining. History oozes through the building walls and curiousity will have you peeping through doors, wondering what could have taken place in these spaces over the centuries.

I’m a harsh coffee judge and I was not about to go easy on a place that named themselves after my favourite coffee drink. I was relieved to find that the oat flat white was just how I like it. It was the right size, and the right type of milk had been used – two basics that so many get wrong! Also, I’ve come to realise that if a place gets a flat white right, then they’ll generally have good coffee all round.

The food didn’t disappoint either. I believe the menu changes regularly, which I assume is why it’s so hard to find online. I opted for a fairly safe choice when I ordered the Korean style chicken burger. The portion was good and I thoroughly enjoyed it, however, it was nothing to write home about. What is worth a mention was the mushroom toast my sister chose. It was divine and left me wishing I’d been a little less obvious with with my own pick. Also, the pancakes looked incredibly tempting but on this occasion neither of us were after anything sweet. All in all, a place I recommend!

Flat White Kitchen in Durham

One thought on “Food Review: Flat White Kitchen in Durham

Leave a comment